Committees Information

As a student organization, the Students’ Association Board Sub-Committees are very important as they complete a lot of Students’ Association work on an individual level.

The smaller size of SAB sub-committees (around 4-6 people) and more focused scope allows each committee to carry out tasks related to RRCSA’s Finances, Capital Campaigns, Scholarships, Advocacy and Elections.

Several committees have to meet at least once a month, and some other committees meet more than once a month, depending on their workload.

The SAB Voting Members nominate themselves for an open spot on the SAB Sub-Committees. The board members (excluding ex-officio) vote and elects those voting members to each committee.

Below is the description of the Students’ Association Board Sub-Committees and the list of their members:

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee reviews the SA’s financial documents, invoices, statements, or cheques for accuracy and reviews and recommends amendments to the SA operating budget.


Chair: Melinda Yanick

Ex-officio: Steve Nachtigall

Voting Members: Claudia Ines Martinet Reyna, Ryan Rutherford, Gurleen Kaur Toor, Tommy Mahoney, Itzia Del Carmen Toledano Moyado, Adrian Vachon, Joshua Malam

Students’ Association Building Trust Fund Committee (BTF)

The BTF Committee approves spending from SA trust funds per the Trust Fund Policy and reviews any SA trust fund financial documents, invoices, statements, or cheques.

It also has the power to recommend trust fund fee amendments to the SAB.



Chair: Melinda Yanick

Ex-officio: Laureen Janzen and Steve Nachtigall

Voting Members: Awe Olufisayo, Navpreet Kaur, Akshita, Tommy Mahoney, John Kelvin Valerio, Adrian Vachon, Joshua Malam

Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee reviews, updates and modifies the RRCSA Scholarship Criteria. It also meets after submission of scholarships to review submissions and to select the recipient(s).



Chair: Joshua Malam

Voting Members: Jahnavi, Shiffali Singh Minhas, Simran Kaur, Austin Burtniak, Riley Gibbons, Lilliam Margarita Norori Duarte, and Adeniyi Adekola

Governance & Internal Review Committee (GIRC)

The GIRC Committee drafts, reviews, and recommends changes to the bylaws and policies of the SA and reviews the SA strategic plan and recommends specific objectives that align with the plan.

It is also involved with the creation/renewal of the New Strategic Plan and handles personnel issues involving the members of the Executive Committee and the SAB



Co-Chair: Mohitpreet Kaur and Prachi Ravi Chawla

Voting Members: Joshua Malam, Abdelsattar Abdelmaksoud, Akshita, Claudia Ines Martinet Reyna, Navpreet Kaur, Harjinder Singh Dhesi

Elections, Appointment & Referenda Committee

The Elections, Appointment & Referenda Committee drafts, reviews, and recommends changes to the Elections & Referenda Policies and Procedures and is responsible for preparing the nomination packages and election materials.

It also handles all issues, complaints, and inquiries about elections and enforces the rules and regulations governing nominations, elections, appointments, and campaigns for Candidates.



Co-Chair: Prachi Ravi Chawla and Jagnoor Singh Sandhu

Ex-Officio: Steve Nachtigall

Voting Members: Ryan Rutherford, Akshita, Abdelsattar Abdelmaksoud, Janet Mak 

Advocacy Committee

The Advocacy Committee surveys the Students of Red River College Polytechnic about their advocacy needs and uses the results to develop the SA’s yearly advocacy priorities and policies, and coordinates SA advocacy activities and campaigns.



Chair: Jagnoor Singh Sandhu

Voting Members: Awe Olufisayo, Tommy Mahoney, Joshua Malam, Harjinder Singh Dhesi